PLCs logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

PLCs Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown

TL;DR
  • The PMMI PLCs 1 test is listed at USD 125, and each purchase covers exactly one attempt.
  • The test has 100 questions, a 70% passing score, and an estimated completion time of about 2 hours.
  • The separately sold PLCs 1 Study Guide PDF is an extra cost on top of the test fee.
  • Because a failed attempt means buying again, preparation spending is cheaper than retaking.

The Sticker Price: What the PLCs 1 Test Costs

The headline number for the PMMI Mechatronics: Programmable Logic Controllers 1 (PLCs) test is straightforward: USD 125, with one attempt per purchase. That figure comes from PMMI's public exam page for the PLCs 1 test, the Packaging Machinery Manufacturing Institute's online certification test for entry-level controls knowledge. It is a published list price, so it is the number to anchor every budget around.

What does $125 buy? A single sitting of a 100-question assessment with a 70% passing score. PMMI estimates the test takes approximately 2 hours, though that is a completion estimate rather than a verified hard timer. If you want the full picture of the format before you pay, read our breakdown in How Hard Is the PLCs Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.

Scope check: This article covers PLCs 1 only. PMMI's broader mechatronics program includes other tests, and those carry their own pricing. Do not assume the PLCs 1 fee applies to any other PMMI certification test, and do not confuse it with vendor-specific PLC credentials from controller manufacturers.

How the One-Attempt Fee Works

PMMI delivers its mechatronics certification tests online and directs PLCs 1 candidates to its Education Partners for examination arrangements. That detail matters for cost planning in three ways.

  1. The purchase is per attempt. Buying the test once gives you one sitting. A second sitting means a second purchase at the listed price.
  2. Arrangements run through partners. Because candidates are pointed to Education Partners, the practical logistics of scheduling and administration may involve a school or training organization rather than a bare self-serve checkout.
  3. Online delivery is not the same as unrestricted at-home testing. PMMI's mechatronics page links Proctor Guidelines, but we could not retrieve that linked document. Do not assume you can sit the test anywhere, anytime, or that no proctoring cost or arrangement applies. Confirm the rules directly before you pay.

For eligibility questions that sit alongside cost, including who the test is built for, see PLCs Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify. The short version: PMMI describes the intended audience as entry-level technicians with PLC experience on packaging equipment and students who have completed coursework covering the tested competencies. That is audience guidance, not a published minimum degree or work-hour requirement.

Costs the Test Price Does Not Include

The $125 covers the test. Everything below is separate and optional or situational. We flag which ones are verified and which ones you must confirm yourself.

The Study Guide PDF

PMMI sells a PLCs 1 Study Guide PDF separately through its mechatronics study-guides listing. We identified it but did not purchase or retrieve it, so we cannot tell you what it contains, how long it is, or whether it fully covers every competency. Check the current price on PMMI's study-guide page before budgeting. Treat it as an optional add-on, not a prerequisite for sitting the test.

Education Partner or Proctoring Fees

Because administration is routed through Education Partners, a partner may have its own policies. Whether any partner charges an additional proctoring, facility, or administrative fee is not stated on the public test page we retrieved, so we will not invent a number. Ask before you buy.

Your Own Preparation Materials

The tested competencies lean heavily on relay logic, ladder programming, and input/output knowledge. Candidates who already work on packaging equipment may need almost nothing beyond a review. Students and career-changers may want textbooks, simulator software, or practice tests. These costs vary widely by what you already own and what your school provides.

Time and Lost Wages

The test is estimated at roughly 2 hours. Add travel or setup time if your arrangement is at a partner site, plus study hours. If you must take unpaid time away from a shift, that is a real cost even though it never appears on a receipt.

What we could not verify: We did not verify a renewal rule, a recertification fee, or a current pass-rate statistic from the retrieved public sources. If a site claims specific renewal costs or pass percentages for PLCs 1, ask for the PMMI source. For what the data does and does not show, see PLCs Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows.

Cost Scenarios at a Glance

The table below separates what is published from what depends on your situation. Only the test fee is a confirmed figure; the other rows describe categories to price out yourself.

Cost ItemAmountStatus
PLCs 1 test, one attemptUSD 125Published on PMMI's PLCs 1 page
Second attempt after an unsuccessful firstAnother USD 125 purchaseFollows from one attempt per purchase
PLCs 1 Study Guide PDFSee PMMI's study-guide listingSold separately; contents not verified by us
Education Partner / proctoring chargesNot published on the test pageConfirm with your partner
Textbooks, simulators, practice testsVariesOptional; depends on what you already have
Renewal or recertificationNot verifiedNo renewal rule confirmed from retrieved sources

Where to Spend (and Not Spend) Your Prep Budget

Since a failed attempt costs another full test fee, the smartest spending question is: which dollars most reduce the chance of a second purchase? The answer depends on which of the eleven published competency groups are your weak spots. PMMI publishes these as unweighted test-objective groups, so you cannot assume any one group dominates the score. Plan to cover all of them.

Domains where hands-on practice pays off

Several groups reward working knowledge rather than memorization, and a free or low-cost simulator can stand in for a lab.

  • Basic PLC Logic Instructions and Basic PLC Motor Control Applications: examine and trace rung logic, seal-in circuits, and start/stop control.
  • PLC Timer and Counter instructions: know how on-delay, off-delay, and count behaviors change a rung's output.
  • Basic PLC Sequencing Applications and Basic PLC Machine Application: follow a process step by step.

Domains where reference reading is enough

Some groups are about vocabulary and structure, where a clear text or diagram beats expensive software.

  • Operation of a PLC: scan cycle and component roles.
  • Memory Organization and Addressing: how addresses map to physical and internal data.
  • Discrete I/O Interfacing: sinking and sourcing concepts, input and output devices.
  • Function and Use of Monitoring Devices: what the devices show and why.

Domains that reward real equipment exposure

The two troubleshooting groups, Troubleshooting PLC Based Systems and Troubleshooting PLC Hardware and Software, benefit most from time on actual machines or from a structured fault-finding mindset.

  • Practice reading a symptom and narrowing it to input, logic, output, or power.
  • Be able to distinguish a hardware fault from a program fault.

One caution: programming and troubleshooting objectives do not establish that the assessment includes hands-on performance testing. Prepare for knowledge questions about these skills, and do not pay for lab time on the assumption that you will be asked to wire or program live. For a deeper walk through each group, see PLCs Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 11 Content Areas.

If you want a structured plan rather than piecing resources together, the PLCs Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt maps these groups into a sequence, and the PLCs Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts is a free last-pass refresher.

Retake Math: Why One Attempt Changes Your Strategy

The "one attempt per purchase" structure is the single biggest cost lever. Consider what it implies:

  • Passing on attempt one costs you the single USD 125 fee.
  • Each additional attempt adds another USD 125, plus any partner logistics you incur again.
  • The passing threshold is 70% of 100 questions, so the margin for error is real but not razor-thin. Details are in PLCs Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.

Key Takeaway

Do not buy the test until you are consistently scoring comfortably above 70% on original, competency-mapped practice questions across all eleven groups. A few extra practice sessions cost far less than a second USD 125 purchase.

A practical readiness check: take a full-length practice run under realistic conditions, and look at your result by competency group rather than just the total. If a group like Memory Organization and Addressing or Discrete I/O Interfacing is dragging you down, fix it before you pay. You can run timed practice on our main practice test site at PLCs Exam Prep practice tests.

Sequencing matters too. Candidates tend to be strongest on the logic-instruction groups and weakest on addressing and troubleshooting, so a sensible schedule front-loads Memory Organization and Addressing and Discrete I/O Interfacing early, builds into logic, timers, and counters in the middle, and saves the two troubleshooting groups for the final stretch when you can apply everything together. This is an editorial suggestion, not an eligibility requirement or pass guarantee.

Getting Someone Else to Pay

At USD 125, the test is inexpensive enough that many candidates can ask their employer or school to cover it. We cannot cite any specific reimbursement policy, because none is published for this test, but several common routes are worth raising:

  • Your employer. Manufacturers and packaging operations that rely on PLC-controlled equipment often have training budgets. Frame the request around machine uptime and troubleshooting capability.
  • Your school or program. If you are a student, your instructor or program may already be an Education Partner or have a relationship with one. Ask whether the test fee is bundled into a course.
  • Workforce or apprenticeship programs. Some regional programs help with certification fees. Availability varies, so ask a local workforce office rather than assuming.

Before you ask, know the details you will be asked: the fee, the one-attempt structure, the 100-question format, and what the credential demonstrates. Our overview What Is PLCs Certification? and the broader PLCs Training resource can help you explain the purpose clearly.

Weighing the Return Without Inventing Numbers

It is tempting to promise a payback period. We will not, because that would require a verified pay premium for holding this specific PMMI credential, and we have not verified one. General compensation for PLC technicians exists, but it reflects the skills and the job, not necessarily this certification test. Keep the two separate when you evaluate the decision.

What you can reasonably weigh is qualitative:

  • Low cost of entry. USD 125 is a modest outlay compared with many technical credentials.
  • A recognized industry body. PMMI is the association for packaging and processing technologies, which is relevant if you want to work in or alongside packaging and processing operations.
  • Documented competency. The test touches relay logic, ladder programming, I/O, timers and counters, and troubleshooting, which maps to what employers need on packaging lines.

For a candid look at earnings context, read PLCs Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis, and for the decision framework, see Is the PLCs Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026. If you are weighing where the credential could take you, PLCs Jobs covers the kinds of roles that value this skill set.

Bottom line on cost: Budget USD 125 for the test, add the optional study guide and any partner fees you confirm, and spend your effort making sure you only pay once. The cheapest path to certification is the one where you do not need a second attempt.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does the PMMI PLCs 1 test cost?

The published test price is USD 125, and each purchase covers one attempt. This comes from PMMI's PLCs 1 test page. Confirm the current price there before paying, since public pricing can change.

Does the USD 125 include the study guide?

No. The PLCs 1 Study Guide PDF is sold separately through PMMI's study-guide listing. Check that page for its current price. We did not purchase or review it, so we cannot describe its contents.

What happens if I do not pass on my first try?

Because the fee covers one attempt per purchase, another sitting requires another purchase. The test has 100 questions and a 70% passing score. Look at the passing score guide and PLCs Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling for scheduling considerations, and confirm any retake rules directly with PMMI or your Education Partner.

Are there extra proctoring or partner fees?

The public test page we retrieved does not state any. PMMI links Proctor Guidelines and directs candidates to Education Partners for arrangements, but we could not retrieve the guidelines document. Ask your partner about any additional charges or requirements before you buy.

Is there a renewal fee for the PLCs 1 certification?

We did not verify a renewal rule or recertification fee from the retrieved public sources, so we cannot state one. Contact PMMI directly if renewal matters to your employer or planning.

Ready to pass your PLCs exam?

Put this into practice with free PLCs questions across every exam domain.